Daisy Dooley Does Divorce by Anna Pasternak

4 STARS

Discovering the novel Daisy Dooley Does Divorce by Anna Pasternak has been the biggest joy I’ve had in reading all year and I read it in February!

Her honesty as a writer, the depth of her characters and her fantastic wit has quickly made her a new favourite author and any woman who enjoys chick/wit lit or romance and relationships between women will undoubtedly love this book!

Daisy Dooley Does Divorce is a humourous and heartfelt romp through 39 year old Brit, Daisy Dooley’s divorce and her consequent quest to understand men, relationships, and most importantly herself and the decisions she makes. It’s a Bridget Jones’s Diary for divorcees and an easy, charming and highly enjoyable read. Fans of Sex and The City will also laugh out loud at this funny, often thought-provokingly poignant story and Daisy’s penchant for spiritual/self-help books makes her a kindred spirit.

You will love this heartwarming, easy-to-read-in-a-few-sittings book about friendship and daring to realize one’s dreams, even if you’re not divorced or have never been married. Anyone who has been disappointed at some point in her life by love will find so much in common with delightful Daisy. She’s full of spirit, sass and sensitivity and if she were a real person I would want to be her friend.

This particular nugget of wisdom struck me…

“It was true – my heart was like Miles’s shelves, gnawed and splintered with emotional woodworm. I read on: “The difference between a little life and a big life is trust. Trust is the midwife of a big life. People only choose little lives because they don’t trust and they want to control.” That’s the most difficult thing in life, I thought, getting the balance right between not giving up on your dreams and yet having enough faith in their fruition to let them go.”

You can stay in touch with London Daily Mail columnist and author Anna Pasternak on MySpace and on Facebook.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s